Alan Ransome re-elected to Federation chair

Paul Stimpson

Publish date:

Please note - this news article was published more than five years ago. Some of the information contained may no longer be correct.

Delegates at the Commonwealth Table Tennis Federation AGM

Alan Ransome OBE has been re-elected Chairman of the Commonwealth Table Tennis Federation.

At the Federation’s annual meeting during the current World Championships in Suzhou, he was elected to serve another four-year term.

The Federation also announced that the next Commonwealth Table Tennis Championships will be staged in Surat, near Mumbai in India, from October 27 to November 1.

Team events will take place on the first three days, followed by three days of singles and doubles.

An option was given to Table Tennis Scotland to organise the following Championships in 2017 in Glasgow.

The Federation also welcomed the recommendation of the Commonwealth Games Federation to include table tennis as a core sport from the 2022 Games.

The final decision on this will be taken at the Commonwealth Games General Assembly in Auckland in September. If approved, it would mean table tennis being included automatically in future editions of the Games. It is already on the list of sports included in the Gold Coast in 2018.

A full list of elected officers of the Commonwealth Table Tennis Federation is as follows:

Chairman: Alan Ransome (England)
Deputy Chairman: Paul Kyle (New Zealand)
General Secretary: Chan Foong Keong (Malaysia)
Treasurer: Audrey MacDonald (South Africa)
Chairman, Technical Committee: Chandra Madhosingh (Canada)
Continental Representatives
Africa: Oshodi Wahid Enitan (Nigeria)
Asia: D R Choudhary (India); Ellen Lee Geck Hon (Singapore)
North America: David Jackson (Canada)
Europe: Phil McCallum (Scotland); Andreas Georgiou (Cyprus)
Caribbean: Ray Jackman (Barbados)

Share this article