Braintree League: Four in a row for Liberal

Ron Fosker

Publish date:

Please note - this news article was published more than two years ago. Some of the information contained may no longer be correct.

Liberal A have won their fourth consecutive Braintree Table Tennis League title, and their fifth in six years.

They are the first team since Colne A from 1987 to 1991 to win four in a row and they did it with three matches to spare.

A 6-4 win over runners-up Rayne A set them on their way and a 10-0 win over Netts A put them out of reach.

With a number of rearranged matches outstanding, relegation is still undecided. Rayne C need to gain three points from their last two matches to stay up.

The position in division two remains unclear but Netts D are very much in the driving seat.

With two matches to play, they are only two points behind Rayne D and three ahead of Liberal C, who both have only one match left.

Rayne D’s record received an unexpected dent when they dropped four points to bottom team Felsted RBL B, where Felsted’s Ashley Butler had an outstanding evening, winning all three singles and guiding father Ian to a win in the doubles.

Liberal C fared even worse. Without either Gareth Davies or Jon Fieldsend, they tumbled 7-3 to Felsted’s A team.

The division three title also remains unresolved. Leaders Black Notley F ensured they finished above Netts E by beating their own G and H teams 7-3 and 6-4 respectively, but the seven points dropped have given hope to their I team, whose 8-2 win over Netts F leaves them needing 17 points from their remaining two matches.

Share this article