Chelmsford & District League: Rawreth trio too strong for Galleywood

Paul Stimpson

Publish date:

Please note - this news article was published more than five years ago. Some of the information contained may no longer be correct.

As the race to win the prestigious first division title in the Chelmsford & District Table Tennis League heats up the two leading sides – Rawreth & Hullbridge A and Bocking B – appear to have “upped the ante” considerably.

Rawreth & Hullbridge A hammered a two-man Galleywood A 10-0. The very strong side of Kevin Read, Duncan Taylor and Ben Warner were all undefeated. Galleywood’s Peter Lau commented “that’s the first time I’ve ever lost 10-0“ whilst Steve Kerns saw it differently – “We were lucky to get nil !“ was his take on the match.

Bocking B beat Elmtree Excalibur A 9-1. Rik James and Gary Cattermole were both undefeated whilst John Poysden made his mark with a fine win 3-0 (12-10, 11-5, 11-9) over Dave  Cole.

Elsewhere, OCs A were 7-3 winners over Bocking A in  match where Brandon Crouchman stayed unbeaten for OCs.
OCs B scored one of the best wins of the Season in Division Two. They beat Hatfield Peverel A 10-0 in a marathon match where no fewer than seven games were decided in the fifth end. Quite incredibly, not a single game was decided three-straight. Steve Northcott, Robbie Burton and Kevin Worthington carried all before them.

OCs B also fought out a 5-5 draw with third-placed Danbury C. Glen Laing overcame Robbie Burton 3-1 (11-9, 11-9, 11-13, 11-9) in the battle of the defenders.

Leaders Danbury B (Chris Buer, Andrew Halling and Steve Buer) took another step towards the title by beating Elmtree Excalibur C 10-0. Rod Maclennan pushed Chris Buer all the way before succumbing 3-2 (8-11, 12-10, 11-6, 8-11, 9-11).

Rawreth & Hullbridge B stay second and they beat Elmtree Excalibur B 7-3. Mike Worship, Barrie Delf and Paul Churn all won twice. Delf beat Tony Hallett 3-2 (5-11, 11-13, 11-6, 11-7, 11-9) in the closest game of the night.

OCs D (Mick Hayes, Roy Moore and David Porter) hit the jackpot against Hatfield Peverel C in division three, racing to a 10-0 victory. David Porter appeared to be heading to defeat against Ray Eldridge but he fought back to win 3-2 (8-11, 2-11, 11-9, 11-5, 11-3).

Danbury G’s Dave Marsh and Mo Hardy were both undefeated as they beat Chelmsford C 7-3. David Parker had to pull out all the stops to get the better of Richard Allen in five (9-11, 1-11, 11-9, 11-5, 12-10).

There’s no stopping Maldon D in Division Four. They made it 11 wins out of 12 by beating EPHQ 8-2. Ciaran Whelan and Colin Napper were both undefeated.

Galleywood C impressed by beating Danbury K 8-2. Alan Thompson and Mohammad Mohseni both grabbed hat-tricks. Galleywood C found it harder going against second-placed OCs F. Tom Barker and Peter Windley gave nothing away although Barker was pushed by Allan Thompson before he triumphed 3-2 (11-5, 8-11, 9-11, 11-3, 11-8).

Third-placed Danbury had Dave Powell to thank as they beat Chelmsford D 6-4.

Division Five leaders Danbury M are in a class of their won. They made it 12 wins out of 12 by beating Maldon E 8-2. George Ashley won his three singles although Mervyn Perriman scored two fine wins for the losers. He beat both Dan Andeson and Cameron Gray. Maldon E in turn returned to winning ways against Chelmsford F. Perriman was again their leading performer and he remained undefeated.

Steve Kerns (press & publicity officer)
January 26, 2015

Share this article