Commonwealth Championships’ squad named

Paul Stimpson

Publish date:

Please note - this news article was published more than two years ago. Some of the information contained may no longer be correct.

England have named a six-strong squad for the Commonwealth Championships in India next month.

Sam Walker, David McBeath and Tom Jarvis will compete in the men’s competitions and Tin-Tin Ho, Denise Payet and Emily Bolton in the women’s.

Five of the squad qualified by meeting the requirements of the selection policy, while Bolton has been added as a wildcard.

England won the silver medal in the men’s team competition at the last edition of the championships three years ago, losing out to India in the final.

McBeath – who won the Fair Play Award at those Championships – and Jarvis were both part of that team, alongside Helshan Weerasinghe and Alex Ramsden.

Ho also featured at the previous championships, where she lost in the singles quarter-finals to India’s Manika Batra, who went on to win singles gold at the Commonwealth Games last year.

This years championships are in Cuttack from July 17 to 22.

Share this article