Friday Photos 100: Sealink memories

Diane Webb

Publish date:

Please note - this news article was published more than three years ago. Some of the information contained may no longer be correct.

This week the photos are from the Sealink Youth Cup. There are several players who are well known faces including Sue Collier, Matthew Syed, Bradley Billington, Nigel Tyler, Lisa Bellinger, Claire Potts and I think that is a young Nicky Mason there as well along with two ladies-in-waiting Jill Parker and Linda Jarvis.

The officials are also familiar faces. At the front: Di Jermyn, Fred Groom, Jack Melnick, Doris Moors and at the back: Dave Miller and Jack Randall.

Can you help name anyone else in the pictures and/or do you know when and where they were taken?

Please get in touch with me at [email protected]

Photo 1
Photo 2
Photo 3
Photo 4
Photo 5
Photo 6
Photo 7
Photo 8

Photo 9

From Week 99. Norwich Union Masters

A big thank you to everyone who provided information on last week’s photos and provided supplementary information for week 98.

The Week 99 event was the Norwich Union Masters held at the Guild Hall, Preston from 7th-9th May 1980 with John Wright as the Referee. The elite of European players participated and all those in the pictures have been named. They are:

  1. Gabor Gergely (Hun) WR 4.
  2. Stellan Bengtsson (Swe) WR 19.
  3. Tibor Klampar (Hun) WR 3.
  4. Istvan Jonyer (Hun) WR 9.
  5. Milan Orlowski (Cze) WR 8.
  6. Ulf Thorsell (Swe) WR 22.
  7. Josef Dvoracek (Cze) WR 14.
  8. Peter Stellwag (Ger) WR 20.
  9. Vladislav Broda (Cze).
  10. John Hilton (European Champion) v Gabor Gergely.
  11. Desmond Douglas (WR 12) v Stellan Bengtsson.

Tibor Klampar was champion and took home £1,500, beating Milan Orlowski in the final; Orlwoski ended with a cheque for £650. Desmond Douglas was the highest placed Englishman in third place and received £500.

From Week 98. Commonwealth Championships

Jersey Team: Back Row: Pat Quinn, Eugene Ellis, Frank Bougard. Front Row: Geoff Reed (npc), Dawn Buckley, Pauline Soper.

Additional information: One of the officials congratulating the winners is Ken Wilkinson from New Zealand.

Share this article