Friday Photos 101: Memories from Darlington

Diane Webb

Publish date:

Please note - this news article was published more than three years ago. Some of the information contained may no longer be correct.

This week the photos are from Keith Wilson’s collection and many thank go to Keith for sending the photos in. Keith is a long serving coach and organiser from Darlington who has been involved with table tennis for many, many years.

The photos are all titled so we know who everyone is in these which run from 1996 to 2002.

1996. ESTTA U16 Boys Champions, Tudhoe Grange School. Barry Coleman (Head), Chris Pennal, Michael Marsden, Richard Johnson, David Skeen, Keith Wilson.
1997. World Championships, Manchester. Jan-Ove Waldner with Claire Wilson, Stephanie Mangle, Rosie Mangle, Michelle Tsang.
1998. Darlington, the winning Premier British League Team. Eddie Smith, Keith Wilson, Tim Dyson, Mark Smith, Jonathan Taylor, Desmond Douglas.
2002. Darlingon Women’s British League Squad. Gail Davey, Joanne Meads, Claire Wilson, Cherith Graham, Sarah Noutch, Stephanie Donnelly.
2002. Mike Watts Memorial Award for the Most Promising Junior presented at the National Championships by Hilda Watts to Claire Wilson and Alex Green.

Information for Week 100 pictures – click here to view the article

These pictures were all from the Sealink Youth Cup Finals held on 25th June 1983 at the Brittania Leisure Centre, Shoreditch, London. There was one finalist in each age category from the six regions: Scotland, Wales & West, Midlands, North, East and the South East.

Photo 1. U16 Boys: Rodney Thomas, Nigel Tyler (runner-up), Andrew Cunningham (winner), Adrian Dixon, Clive Guest , Gordon Cummings.

Photo 2. U13 Girls. Lisa Robbins, Melanie Carey, Andrea Holt (winner), Claire Potts, Sarah Hurry, Julie Norman.

Photo 3. U16 Girls. Andrea Holt, Lisa Bellinger, Sue Collier (winner), Lynn Johnston, Evelyn Wright, Jill Powis.

Photo 4. U13 Boys. Matthew Syed, Bradley Billington, John Ellis (winner), Damien Holland, Lee Brown, Gavin Turnbull.

Photo 5. Jackie Bellinger with the Mayor.

Photo 6. Jill Parker and Linda Jarvis with Brian Ashton of Sealink.

Photo 7. Umpires: Front Di Winmill (Jermyn), Fred Groom, Jack Randall, Doris Moors; Back: Dave Miller, Jack Randall.

Photo 8. The four winners: John Ellis, Sue Collier, Andrea Holt, Andrew Cunningham.

Photo 9. Douggie Johnson with Brian Ashton of Sealink.

A big thank you to everyone who has sent in information on these pictures, especially Andrea Holt who at the tender age of 12 years old qualified for both the Under-13 and U16 events.

The last lot of Friday’s Photos for this year but I will be back in 2019 so it just leaves me to wish you all a very happy Christmas and a peaceful and healthy 2019.

Share this article