Ken Tonge presents to Under-11 winner Sam Davies from Halton and runner-up Ben Keeley from Warrington

Twenty is plenty to celebrate at Halton!

Karen Tonge MBE

Publish date:

Please note - this news article was published more than two years ago. Some of the information contained may no longer be correct.

Halton TTC celebrated 20 years since the grand opening of its centre at the Select Security Stadium with a Junior 1 Star tournament. More than 50 competitors took part in this first event of the season including many local players in their first competition.

It is now 20 years since we had the grand opening of Halton TT Centre. We are so grateful to the National Lottery (celebrating its 25th anniversary this year); Table Tennis England and Halton Borough Council for enabling us to have this magnificent facility. Since Tessa Sanderson opened the facility, with Matthew Syed giving table tennis demonstrations, hundreds of people of all ages have used the facilities over the years, with current membership at more than 700 aged from six to over 90 years old.

Thanks to Andrew Morris, Jordan Abbott and Tara Hanrahan for umpiring finals. Ken Tonge, organiser, and Karen Tonge MBE, Chairman of Halton TTC and referee for the event, presented the trophies. Tees Sport provided the Butterfly balls for the event.

Results from the finals were:

Under-11 Boys: Sam Davies (Ch) bt Ben Keeley (Ch) 3-1 (11-5, 13-15, 11-7, 11-7)
Under-11 Girls: Millie Noble (Dy) bt Jemima Choudhury (Dy) 3-0 (11-7, 11-2, 11-5)
Under-13 Boys: Ben Keeley (Ch) bt Charlie Williams (La) 3-0 (11-5, 11-4, 11-9)
Under-13 Girls: Jessica Morris (Ch) bt Brooke Morris (La) 3-1 (6-11, 11-6, 11-6, 11-9)
Cadet Boys: Felix Anderson (La) bt Ibrahim Abdullah (Ch) 3-1 (8-11, 11-8, 12-10, 12-10)
Cadet Girls: Anna Hartley (Ch) bt Jessica Morris (Ch) 3-0 (11-4, 13-11, 11-8)
Junior Boys: Ibrahim Abdullah (Ch) bt Jake Remmer (Ch) 3-0 (11-4, 11-3, 11-8)
Junior Girls: Milly Hanrahan (Ch) bt Inara Ahmed (Dy) 3-2 (9-11, 11-5, 11-6, 9-11, 11-7)
Under-13 Boys’ Consolation: Yiding Daniel Zheng (Ch) bt Sebastian McInstry (Ch) 3-1 (11-5, 5-11, 11-6, 14-12)
Cadet Boys’ Consolation: Alex Rees (Ch) bt Nathan Brocklehurst (Ch) 3-0 (11-5, 11-5, 11-9)
Cadet Girls’ Consolation: Brooke Morris (La) bt Maddy Lyons (Ch) 3-1 (10-12, 13-11, 11-8, 11-4)
Junior Boys’ Consolation: Nathan Brocklehurst (Ch) bt Hamza Saleem (Ch) 3-0 (11-3, 12-10, 11-3)

Cadet Girls Anna Hartley and Jessica Morris
Junior Girls Milly Hanrahan and Inara Ahmed
Nathan Brocklehurst and Hamza Saleem with Karen Tonge MBE

Share this article