Leicester & District: Monteiro shines

John Bowness (publicity officer)

Publish date:

Please note - this news article was published more than three years ago. Some of the information contained may no longer be correct.

The Leicester & District League’s summer competition for the Elbow Tankard, a three-a-side team handicap, attracted 12 teams split into three groups of four playing all-play-all home and away. The three groups winners plus the best loser will progress to the semi-finals.

There were a number of unbeaten individual performances, not least of all six from six by Tony Monteiro helping Casualties to a 15-5 success over Villagers in Group C, while Wes Glaud (5 from 6) and Tony Burns (3 from 4) were close behind. Only in the doubles, where they won three, largely due to Luke Blair, did Villagers make any inroads.

In this competition one of the players plays two doubles’ sets and two singles, the other two play three singles and one doubles, making 10 best of two sets scored as games for the overall result.

The other result in this group was altogether closer when Park and Ride drew with Electric City 10-10, the crucial games coming in the final set when P and R’s Dean Jordan lost the first against the undefeated Bryan Moylan before inflicting the latter’s first defeat in six games to share the overall spoils. James Lancaster won three for P and R while Andy Wright did the same for Electric.

KP Young Ones are going to take some stopping in Group B as shown when they defeated Abbots Renegades 14-6 with Patrick Cox four from four as well as unbeaten in the doubles. Vishaal Sharma and Brajesh Patel both supported with three from six while Cheten Tailor and Bhulesh Rathod did the same for Abbots.

Ian’s Wizards easily beat Fleckney Flames 18-2, the latter being still on a learning curve, with Himasu Mishra unbeaten in six, Ben Cooke winning his four as well as four doubles. Ted Eastman supplied the other four.

One match was played in Group A when Abbots All Stars won a tight encounter against Knighton The Town 12-8. Dave Rana was unbeaten in his four games, Vishal Parmar four and Geoff Hancock three. For KTT, Chris Parmar-Saville notched four.

Share this article