Moke Warburton – Cadet Girl winner

Seeds suffer at Bishop Auckland Bribar 2 star

Matt Porter

Publish date:

Please note - this news article was published more than three years ago. Some of the information contained may no longer be correct.

The 14th Bishop Auckland Bribar 2* saw some of the seeded players suffer shock losses, but five still came away with titles.

The Under-11s saw the seeding go to plan, with first seed Joe Dennison overcoming second-seeded James Milward in the final, who had earlier come through a semi with Ben Mold by the tightest of margins. The plate event was taken by Chris Caygill, beating Seth Holland 3-1.

The Under-13 Boys saw the top seed Jake Haygarth take the title, but the seeds fell by the wayside. Second seed Adam Dennison won his group before having to play the third seed, his brother Joe, who had lost to Luke Mitchell in his group. Fourth seed Luke Hodgson won his group, and then made his way to the final by beating Joe Dennison in the semis.

Jake Haygarth – U13 Winner

The Under-13 Girls also saw the seedings go awry. Anya Milne, the second seed, took home the title by beating Katie Bates in the final. Bates, who had beaten top seed Rebecca Savage in her group, defeated Sophie Richardson in her semi-final, with Milne defeating Savage in hers.

Anya Milne – U13’s Girls winner

The plate event saw Kate Watkinson take home the title, beating Natasha Richardson in the final.

The Cadet Boys was so close to being on seeding, but Adam Hanby took out fourth seed Daniel Watkinson and then fifth seed Jake Haygarth to face second-ranked Callum McRae in the semis. McRae won, to face Che Goldbourne in the final, with top seed Goldbourne taking the title.

The plate event saw Matthew Pearson take the title, beating Bishop Auckland club-mate Sean Stobart in the final, with Alex Robinson and Nathan Suplur losing semi-finalists.

Che Goldbourne – Cadet Boys winner

The Cadet Girls saw only one of the seeds take their expected place in the first round, that was top seed Moke Warburton, both second and third seeds having lost matches.

The finalists repeated their earlier meeting from the group stage, Warburton winning the title by beating, Amy Mold.

Second seeded Eve Witterick lost in her group to put her in the same half as Warburton, Mold’s route to the final saw her take the runner-up spot in group 1 after beating Katie Bates, a winning quarter-final against third seed Rebecca Savage, who had lost to Anya Milne in her group, and a semi-final win over Reem Raseem. The plate saw Bates come out on top, overcoming Sophie Richardson in five sets.

Like the Cadet Girls, the Junior Boys saw the two finalists come from the same group. Top seed Kieran Wardell overcame Harvey McDonald in five sets, then beat Daniel Watkinson in the quarters, and Max Duffin in the semis – who had beaten fifth seed Chris Edwards in the group.

Unseeded McDonald overcame Callum McRae in the quarters, who had beaten second seed Adam Webster in the group, before beating Sam Hume in the semis, who in turn had beaten Cadet champion Che Goldbourne in the group and Jamie Peacock in the quarters.

The plate saw the second seeded Adam Webster overcome third seeded Ben Savage in five ends, with Kashif Mahmood and Adam Hanby losing semi-finalists.

Kieran Wardell – Junior Boys winner

Following on the theme, the Junior Girls also saw the final as a replay of a group match. Group 2 saw Charlotte Weatherby come through as winner and Zoe Hewitt runner-up. That result was the same in the final, with Hewitt having beaten top seed Holly Williams in a tight five-set match in the semis, and Weatherby beating Katie Peacock.

The plate was another replay, both from the group and from elsewhere in the tournament. For a fourth and final time Moke Warbuton and Amy Mold played off with Mold upsetting the odds, coming out winner in five sets.

Charlotte Weatherby – Junior Girls winner

The Next Bishop Auckland Bribar two star is May 6th and is already over a third full. Like most Bishop Auckland Bribar 2 stars, is likely to be over-subscribed, so enter early to avoid disappointment.

Share this article