England Youth Squad

The England Youth Squad (EYS) is a group of young players with the potential to play table tennis at elite level on the international stage. The squad provides them with a pathway from club and school table tennis to the England ranks and prepares them for elite competition.

EYS players will attend 10 regular training camps throughout the season at the Lilleshall National Sports Centre in Shropshire and other venues and also receive regular contact and support at their clubs from one of the national coaching staff. National coaching staff work closely with the players’ local coaches, who remain integral to their development.

Players are divided into a Performance group and a Development group. The Performance group are generally older and have greater tournament experience, while the Development group, as the name suggests, are generally younger and less far along the pathway.

In order to be selected for the EYS, players must first apply. Upon a successful application players are invited to an assessment day, where they will undertake fitness tests, on-the-table practice and an interview where they discuss their training, results and ambitions.

The application process for this season’s squad closed on July 31, 2016. Please see below for the Selection Policy, Athlete Agreement and Application Form.


Current England Youth Squad members

Juniors: Josh Bennett, Joe Clark, Harry Dai, James Hobson, Jonny McMullan, Denise Payet, Alex Ramsden, Shayan Siraj, James Smith, Olly Tyndall

Cadets: Reece Chamdal, Ruby Chan, Sophie Chiang, Sam Chesterman, Joe Cope, Amirul Hussain, Jamie Liu, Mollie Patterson, Darcie Proud, Ethan Walsh, Hannah Ward, Josh Weatherby, Jasmin Wong



Total Attachments: 3